This is the "Sites & Sources of Statistical Information on Africa" page of the "African Statistics: Sites and sources of information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Statistics: Sites and sources of information   Tags: africa, african statistics, eca, economic commission for africa, statistical information, statistics, uneca, united nations  

A guide providing a listing of links to websites, publications and other resources for statistical information on Africa
Last Updated: Dec 7, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uneca.org/afrstat Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Sites & Sources of Statistical Information on Africa Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Disclaimer

This guide brings web and library sources on African Statistics into one unique finding tool. The links to third party websites do not imply endorsement by the ECA.

 

African Statistics Day - 18 November

ECA Copyright

 

African Statistics Day

 

ECA Publications

ECA Copyright

 

African Statistical Yearbook

The African Statistical Yearbook (ASYB) 2014 is the sixth edition jointly produced by the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA), the African Union Commission (AUC) and the African Development Bank (AfDB). The 2014 edition presents a time series showing how African countries performed on several economic and social indicators over the period 2005-2013.

More ECA publications

 

ACfS

African Centre for Statistics

The African Centre for Statistics is committted to a long term objective of operating as a regional service centre for data on economic, social, demographic, and environmental conditions in African countries.

 

Statistical Publications from the LibCat

Cover Art
African Statistical Publications - ECA Library
Search results from the ECA Library Catalog (LibCat)

 

Statistical resources in the ECA Repository

Cover Art
Resources in the Institutional Repository on Statistics in Africa
Search results from the ECA Institutional Repository

 

Search Results from ASKIA

Cover Art
Statistical links in ASKIA
Strengthen knowledge discovery by selecting resources from the interactive online portal which provides Access to Scientific and Socio-economic Information in Africa (ASKIA)

 

Search the Library


ECA Library 
Knowledge Services Section (KSS)
Public Information & Knowledge Management Division (PIKMD)
P.O. Box 3001, Limpopo Building

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Tel +251 11 5510 280 Ext. 33114
Fax: +251 11 551 4416
Send us an email

Click here for more information on how to Contact us

 

Sites of Statistical Information on Africa

A directory of links to websites providing statistical information on Africa, this listing is curated by the staff at Stanford University Libraries.

The AfDB has a large team of researchers who focus on the production of statistical data on economic and social situations. Through its statistics department the AfDB is contributing to the effective development of the statistical capacity and systems of its regional member countries for the provision of timely and reliable data for policy formulation, implementation and evaluation as well as the monitoring of progress towards achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and Poverty Reduction Strategies.

The African Economic Outlook (AEO) presents the current state of economic and social development in Africa and projects the outlook for the coming two years. The AEO is a product of collaborative work by three international partners: the African Development Bank, the OECD Development Centre and the United Nations Development Programme.

A division of the WHO, the African Health Observatory provides regional and country level statistical information on the health situation of these areas and indicates progress on the health-related Millennium Development Goals. It includes comprehensive regional and country profiles and provides links to the quarterly journal, African health monitor. Also included here is the full report of the annual Atlas of African Health Statistics.

The data in this publication bears testimony to the depth and breadth of the sectors that Africa and India place the greatest levels of engagement.

AFRISTAT est une organisation internationale créée par un traité signé le 21 septembre 1993 à Abidjan par les 14 pays africains membres de la Zone Franc suivants: Bénin, Burkina Faso, Cameroun, Centrafrique, Comores, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Guinée Equatoriale, Mali, Niger, Sénégal, Tchad et Togo. AFRISTAT a pour mission de contribuer au développement des statistiques économiques, sociales et de l’environnement dans les Etats membres et de renforcer leurs compétences dans ces domaines.

Afrobarometer is an independent, non-partisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.  Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in 35 African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Because the instrument asks a standard set of questions, countries can be systematically compared. Trends in public attitudes are tracked over time. Results are shared with decision makers, policy advocates, civic educators, journalists, researchers, donors and investors, as well as average Africans who wish to become more informed and active citizens.

Afin de répondre aux multiples sollicitations, notamment des chercheurs des Universités et Centres de Recherche, la Banque Centrale a développé une base de données économiques et financières, qu’elle rend accessible au grand public, à travers son site Internet.

Libguide with links to statistics published by various African countries 

The platform provides data access features like search, browse by countries or thematic areas and provides predefined data sets on selected topics.  Available data may be downloaded to excel, comma separated value (CSV), Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF formats.
  • ECOSTAT Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

ECOWAS has embarked on the harmonisation of economic and financial policies through a multilateral surveillance mechanism adopted in December 1999 by the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government. Comparable economic data are an essential requirement for the evaluation of the process.

GeoHive, a site with all kinds of population statistics. The main component is tabulated population statistics: current, historical, estimates, projections, cities, agglomerations, etc. But also geopolitical data like the administrative divisions of countries (provinces, counties and such) of all nations of this world. In the resources section one can find a long list of national statistical agencies and other interesting resources.

In a single electronic platform, the WHO’s Communicable Disease Global Atlas is bringing together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels. The analysis and interpretation of data are further supported through information on demography, socioeconomic conditions, and environmental factors.

The Google Public Data Explorer makes large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. As the charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand. All of the datasets in the Public Data Explorer are provided by third-party data providers, such as international organizations, national statistical offices, non-governmental organizations, and research institutions.

See 100+ years' history of official statistics in Africa

The data presented here was used in the preparation of the 2014 Human Development Report, released on 24 July 2014. The data used in these indices and other human development indicators presented here are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best and most available statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of the annual report.

ITU is the official source for global ICT statistics, the ICT Data and Statistics Division is part of ITU's Project Support and Knowledge Management Department. Telecommunication/ICT data collected from national telecommunication/ICT ministries and regulatory authorities (these include data on the fixed telephone network, mobile cellular services, Internet/broadband, traffic, revenues and investment); and prices of ICT services.

The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.

This site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals. The data and analyses are the product of the work of the Inter-agency and Expert Group (IAEG) on MDG Indicators, coordinated by the United Nations Statistics Division.

The Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.

The National Accounts Main Aggregates Database presents a series of analytical national accounts tables from 1970 onwards for more than 200 countries and areas of the world. It is the product of a global cooperation effort between the Economic Statistics Branch of the United Nations Statistics Division, international statistical agencies and the national statistical services of these countries and is developed in accordance with the recommendation of the Statistical Commission at its first session in 1947 that the Statistics Division should publish regularly the most recent available data on national accounts for as many countries and areas as possible.

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It  replaced SourceOECD in July 2010. OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format.

Produced by the Southern African Development Community, it includes various demographic and social indicators for member states.

An internet based platform for compilation and dissemination of data on various socio-economic indicators on African countries. It holds data on a wide range of indicators covering various areas such as Population, Education, Health, National Accounts, Agriculture, Mining, Energy, Environment,   Tourism, Trade as well as Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Free access to all of the trade data available in the UN Comtrade database. The database contains more than 3.1 billion trade records starting from 1962.

UNdata brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system from a wide range of departments and subject matter.

UNHCR contributes to coordination and informed decision-making in refugee operations by providing accurate, relevant and timely data and statistics. This section provides data, reports, maps and other information essential for field operations. It also carries statistical reports on the people of concern to UNHCR: refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, the internally displaced and stateless people.

Now available through World Bank Open Data.  ADI is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. It also brings an essay on a key topic for Africa, and this years’ theme is the long term growth challenges of the continent.

The World Bank eAtlas allows users to map and graph dozens of indicators over time and across countries.

This database on Africa contains over 1,200 indicators of macro-economic and social data for 53 African countries and 20 country groups, and year-by-year time series back to 1970. These series provide analysts data needed to help place the most recent years in a historical context.

 

Share this!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip